Quarantine: Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia & Curacao axed from safe list after Covid spike

We will use your email address only for sending you newsletters. Please see our Privacy Notice for details of your data protection rights.

The government’s latest review of the travel corridor list has seen three more countries get the chop. Denmark, Iceland, Slovakia and Curacao all recorded a sudden spike in coronavirus cases which subsequently led to the countries being axed from the safe travel list. The latest information regarding the travel corridors was announced on Twitter by Transport Secretary Grant Shapps.

He said: “Data shows we need to remove DENMARK, SLOVAKIA, ICELAND, and CURACAO from the Travel Corridor list.

“If you arrive in the UK from these destinations after 4am this Saturday, you will need to self-isolate for 14 days.”

He added: “We will not be adding any destinations to the Travel Corridor list this week.

“Remember: You MUST complete a Passenger Locator Form by law if you enter the UK.

“This protects public health and ensures those who need to are complying with self-isolation rules.”

Mr Shapps added a grave warning to British holidaymakers in his announcement today.

He urged those returning to the UK: “Also please don’t forget that you MUST self-isolate (quarantine) when returning from a non-exempt country, or face fines which start at £1,000.”

No countries were added to the travel corridor list this week.

More to follow…

Source: Read Full Article