Britons will be charged to travel to the EU in 2023

Rishi Sunak under pressure as majority of Brits want to rejoin EU

We use your sign-up to provide content in ways you’ve consented to and to improve our understanding of you. This may include adverts from us and 3rd parties based on our understanding. You can unsubscribe at any time. More info

In 2023, British tourists will have to pay €7 (£6.12) to visit the EU. According to research from Direct Line Travel Insurance, nine in 10 Britons are in the dark about the fees.

The EU’s new ETIAS scheme or visa waiver scheme will be introduced towards the end of 2023.

The scheme will charge non-EU citizens to visit the bloc and is expected to launch next November.

The research found that just seven percent of Britons knew the cost and the date for the introduction of the fee.

British tourists will need to apply for the scheme and pay the fee if they want to holiday in the EU.

The ETIAS scheme will cover the Schengen area which includes the popular holiday destinations of Spain, France and Portugal.

Britons will need to apply for the visa waiver every three years if they want to visit the Schengen zone.

Direct Line Travel Insurance found that 82 percent of holidaymakers thought more should be done to publicise the new travel rules.

Almost two thirds of Britons thought the UK and the EU should be doing more to explain the new rules. 

Britons are also more likely to check the weather in their holiday destination than the visa rules.

Only around a third of Britons checked the visa rules for their holiday while almost half admitted to checking the weather.

Despite the new fee, the majority of Britons said they would not put off travelling to the EU for holidays.

Tom Bishop, head of Direct Line Travel Insurance, said: “Low awareness of the EU visa-waiver scheme is concerning and shows there is not enough education around the new rules.

“People feel the authorities should be doing more to publicise the visa-waiver scheme. It seems sensible to use the remaining months until the new rules come into force to ensure people know about the visa-waiver, including how and when to apply.

“This would be especially relevant for those travellers with limited online access who may not have access to finding this information as easily as others.

“Further clarity would provide peace of mind for people planning their next holiday abroad.”

Travellers will need to apply online for the ETIAS and approval is expected to take less than half an hour for most tourists.

Schengen countries

  • Austria
  • Belgium
  • Czech Republic
  • Denmark
  • Estonia
  • Finland
  • France
  • Germany
  • Greece
  • Hungary
  • Iceland
  • Italy
  • Latvia
  • Liechtenstein
  • Lithuania
  • Luxembourg
  • Malta
  • Netherlands
  • Norway
  • Poland
  • Portugal
  • Slovakia
  • Slovenia
  • Spain
  • Sweden
  • Switzerland

Source: Read Full Article